The Game Is Afoot

A long time ago, in a blog post far, far away, I mentioned that I’d been dared by a writing group to do an A-Z writing crime writing challenge. It lasted, what? A week before we all wandered off into the ether and forgot to actually do the challenges.

So I’m reviving it, at least for myself.

Originally, it was going to be an a-z of murders, but to avoid filling this space with death scenes, I’m broadening the focus, and picking a word at random.Once a week, they’ll be posted here. Don’t expect miracles. It’s not meant to be a polished piece of brilliance. It’s meant to be fun.

Here are the rules:

I have 20 minutes (though it can be bumped up to an hour if I’m really, really in the zone) to write something that corresponds to each letter of the alphabet. An alarm is set, so I don’t get distracted.

The title will be the word prompt.

Research isn’t allowed, because I have so little time. Think character or scene sketches. This isn’t about factual accuracy, and it’s not about creating perfection. It’s about getting my butt in the chair and writing something every week for reasons beyond ‘it’s part of the book’ or ‘it’s part of my work’.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

