The Sunday Circle: A Reckoning

It’s… it’s been a while since I’ve done this, gentle reader.

The utterly kick-ass wonder, Peter M. Ball, has a weekly Q&A opp over at Man Vs Bear, asking 3 simple questions. I’ve been meaning to answer these weekly for a while now. No, really, there are drafts and everything.

So here’s me, sheepishly creeping back into the routine.

What are you working on this week?
Too freakin’ much. Nobody should be shocked at this point. I’m trying to get the review blog live, finally, after a kabillion irritating setbacks. It means figuring out how to set it out, and… yeah. Not my happy place.

I’m also trying to get back into a writing habit, because the move last month absolutely destroyed my focus, and my ability to get anything done. I need to get back on track with the music challenge, and Smart People Talking, too. I’m still trying to catch up on the reviews owing, because, again, moving house sucks heartily.

And I’m trying to wrap my head around how much writing I need to get done this year to keep up with all the longer form projects I’m involved in. You know that moment when you start thinking you’ve maybe bit off more than you can chew, but you decide to try and choke it down anyway because what’s the worst that could happen? 

Yeah. That’s me.

What is inspiring you at the moment?
The new project is a lot of fun, and getting to bounce ideas off someone is awesome. The idea of learning in a more hands-on way about the industry is equal parts brilliant and terrifying.

Being somewhere with minimal internet and zero TV means having to actually write or read, which is great for productivity. Or it will be, when I can get my brain up and running properly.

What part of your project are you trying to avoid?
Designing the review blog. Because Jesus-freakin-Christ, that’s the part I hate. Have you seen how shittily basic this blog is? For whatever reason, whenever I try and trudge my way through the design stuff, I just… my brain just does not compute wtf needs to be done to make it all suck less.

I want it to look good. Professionally casual, I suppose? It’s a bunch of people wanking lyrical about books, nothing academic or overly serious, but I don’t want it to look like some 13 year old’s dear diary, either. But easy af to navigate, and no stupid poppy-uppy mofo asking for people to subscribe or whatever before they’ve even gotten to look at the blog. Because those things are the devil’s work.

And I need to figure out how to (cheaply, because sudden unexpected move means all hail the poverty for a while) make sure that the authors are credited properly. One of the sites I freelance for has the owners name show up on the links, so it essentially credits her for everyone’s work until you click the link and read down. I 100% don’t want to do that. But I don’t know enough to not do that, and this is why this part of the project has been summarily ignored. Like, I need to have one person uploading, because everyone is busy af and it’s easier just to have one person scheduling things than everyone trying to. But I want everyone’s work immediately and clearly credited to them. And I have no idea how to explain that in a way that someone who knows how to fix the problem is understanding.

Honestly, we’re all speaking English, but we’re speaking vastly different languages right now. I hates it, precious.

Also? The writing. Mostly because I’m just a tad overwhelmed by the sheer volume of things I need to get done, and my brain is just kinda looking like Sam Neil when he first sees a dinosaur:

dafuq is that dinosaur doing there

 

7 thoughts on “The Sunday Circle: A Reckoning

  1. Lol. No wonder you’re feeling overwhelmed–that’s a very full plate you’ve got going on there. I hope it goes well for you. Particularly good luck with getting the writing habit re-established. I’ve struggled with that off and on through the last year or so, trying to balance writing and uni, and now that I’ve been writing regularly for a while, I’ve found it’s a little self-sustaining. Everything just gets a little easier. (I’ve even found regular blogging is helping with that.) I’ve not got a single design bone in my body, but I do have a firm belief that if you’re not confident with design the only solution is to lean into your lack and embrace the beauty of simplicity… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, James!
      Hopefully the habit will be quick to fall back into place- I miss the ability to just hit a target and get on with my day. And I’m pretty sure once I get past the ‘oh gods, that’s a lot to achieve’ and dive in, it’ll run a lot smoother. How on earth do you manage regular writing and blogging while studying?

      Simplicity is definitely what I’m aiming for, for the most part. Aside from a few little tweaky bits. Hopefully, it’ll come together soon!

      Like

      1. Well, this is the first semester where I’ve put a real effort into study, writing, and social media at the same time and tried to balance it all, so it remains to be seen whether I manage it… 🙂 It’s sure not easy. I’m trying to preserve a pretty high GPA, and I’m aiming to go for an honours year, and one of my lecturers has been giving me research assistant’s work (from home, mercifully, proofreading and such for academic articles), but writing has the loudest and most emphatic claim on me, so sometimes the balancing act gets a bit fraught! But so far this semester it has been going well, I’m very pleased to say. Maybe luck, a bit. Maybe some skills and things moving from my conscious to my subconscious mind, bringing some ease to the work. (Lord, I say all this touching wood big time.)

        Like

  2. Sounds like you have a ton on your plate, Kylie! Best of luck getting things sorted post-move (never a fun or easy task in and of itself).

    The blog-crediting does sound tricky. Are you using a specific site like WordPress for the reviews blog, or something else? I feel like there *is* a way to do that on WordPress (and there must be a way to do it from a single admin log in, I would *think*), but I’m afraid my only familiarity is with WordPress, which isn’t so helpful. :\

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Maggie!
      Yep, I’m just using bare basics WordPress right now, with an aim to upgrade to a ‘proper’ website when I know it’s actually going to pan out reasonably well.

      I think it’s just messing with me today, though. Everything I’m doing, it’s saying no to, even though I’m just following the customising instructions within the templates. Life goal: eventually be able to pay someone else to deal with this. Clearly, it’s not my happy place!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh man, I hate it when it does that! Seriously, there are some malevolent ghosts in the computer somedays. Best of luck getting them exorcised! 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

